wish you were here:The Quilts.

something i talked to my mom about while I was packing/moving was that I actually, in a not ironic way, think that I am superhuman. I somehow continue to believe that I can stay up all night and do a million things and projects and literally defy time. Because I REALLY DO. I stay up till 2 or 3 am, and then I wake up at 7:30 or 8 and ACTUALLY HAVE A NORMAL DAY, EVEN A PRODUCTIVE DAY. and I don’t even really drink coffee (except lately but i think it’s just so I feel more fancy/new-yorker-y while riding the subway). The night time to me feels like an endless sea of time and productivity. Time when no one is there to distract me and I can do all those projects I think about / draw diagrams / make lists about during the day. It’s ALIYA time. And then, I hit this wall every time. because (spoiler alert): I am Not A Superhuman. I’m pretty great, but not a Superhuman. and this really gets me. So many things I want to do. Why can’t I be? Please? Pleaeeeaseeezzee?

One thing that Superhumans are great at is “Mental Packing”. Its where you pack your whole life in your head, and then it’s all taken care of! No Tape Needed TM! I am really good at mental packing. “Don’t worry mom, I Mentally Packed. I’ve got this Under Control.”

But luckily I am also somewhat good at real packing (sort of). 9 boxes later, a pile of trash stuff, a pile of give away stuff, a pile of useful stuff I might have accidentally taken from your desk stuff, a pile of empty boxes/containers stuff, a pile of small gift packages to send off filled with presents (that some people might consider “crap”) and 4 other “to be shipped someday later” boxes, I am moved out of Florida.

One of my last projects was making quilts. I call these my “Wish You Were Here” postcard quilts. I’m not exactly sure where “here” is, but each of these is a tiny world that I just love. They don’t quite go together, but the plastic trees make all these quilts friends. maybe cousins from different nations. The plastic trees make me laugh.

TO all my friends and family and people I don’t even know I love yet across the nation and beyond, I wish you were here with me. I am so excited to be here, wherever that made up tiny hott-pink landscape is.

2 comments

  1. Tabitha

    I have a month until my next position starts (and it’s through AmeriCorps again, so you know all about my not 100% believing it will come). Anyway, I’m feeling sluggish and out of touch (not superhuman at all) and trying to get myself motivated to feel good about this time. Right now though I’ve been searching for events and workshops, and trying my hand at some collage quilts is going on my list.

  2. You aren’t super human. But you’re a super human. Love these quilts, girl! And I know just what you mean about staying up late for that Aliya-time feeling, and how anything seems possible. Glad to hear someone else describe it. Have you ever heard of polyphasic sleep?

Leave a Reply

